Archives and Special Collections: Policies

Collection Development Policy for Archives and Special Collections of the Stephen B. Luce Library 

The Archives and Special Collections of the Stephen B. Luce Library acquires, preserves, and makes accessible unique collections documenting maritime culture, industry, and education in the state of New York and beyond. These collections enhance the curriculum of the college while also serving researchers, scholars, and genealogists from around the world. Primary source materials in a wide variety of formats may be acquired, including manuscripts, photographs, records, audiovisual materials, and ephemera.

 

Inquiries for donations can be made to the Archivist, Taliesin Gamache (tgamache@sunymaritime.edu).

 

Any donations sent without prior approval from the Archivist may be returned to the sender or disposed of if the sender is not reachable.

 

Current collecting priorities and focuses include:

• Records of Maritime College with enduring historical value, such as:
  • Materials documenting student life and experience on school ships and training ships.
  • Materials documenting the evolution of the college’s curriculum and governance.
  • Materials documenting significant events and milestones.
  • Regularly issued reports and publications, such as catalogs and yearbooks.
  • Papers of faculty that demonstrate exceptional scholarly, teaching, or service activities.
  • Records of academic and administrative units and committees.
• Papers, photographs, and records of alumni that pertain to their time at college or subsequent careers.
• Papers of individuals that illustrate the experience and conditions of a life at sea, such as correspondences, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, and ephemera.
• Papers of individuals with notable careers within the maritime industry.
• Records of maritime-related civic, political, cultural, and charitable groups. 
• Records of shipping companies, regulatory bodies, as well as professional, trade, and other organizations documenting the development of the maritime industry.

 

The Stephen B. Luce library is particularly interested in acquiring collections that will diversify the archival record, providing evidence of the role and contributions of people of color, women, and other under-represented groups in the maritime industry. 

 

The Archives and Special Collections of the Stephen B. Luce Library does NOT acquire:

•              Collections that are tangential or unrelated to maritime heritage.

•              Printed materials that are already widely available in other institutions or in trusted digital repositories.

•              Materials that will never be open to the public.

•              Ship models.

•              Materials that are hazardous or require extensive resources to be conserved.

 

The intention of the library is to acquire and preserve born-digital records. However, decisions about accessioning electronic records will be made on a case by-case basis while the appropriate infrastructure for ingesting and preserving such materials is developed. 

 

The Archives and Special Collections have limited space and ability to preserve three-dimensional objects and artwork. Referrals will be made for possible accession by the Maritime Industry Museum as appropriate. 
The Maritime Industry Museum is not associated with Stephen B. Luce Library or the College Archives.

 

Collection Development policies for the Archives and Special Collections will be reviewed on an on-going basis. Changes may be made based on priorities of the library and/or college, and/or as new initiatives or best practices arise.