| Maritime | United States |
| New York City | Global |
| Newspapers & Periodicals |
SUNY Maritime Digital Collections
Digitized selections from the college's archives and special collections held at the Stephen B. Luce Library.
Mystic's collections reflect the extraordinary scope and significance of America’s relationship with the sea and inland waterways and include a wide variety of materials, from manuscripts to fine art. Digitized materials on the exhibits page.
Seamen's Church Institute Digital Archives
More than 12,500 digitized items documenting the history of the Seamen's Church Institute, North America's largest mariners' service agency.
American Merchant Marine Veterans Oral History Project
An Oral history project through the Seamen's Church Institute with merchant marine veterans.
Journal of the H.M.S. ENDEAVOR, 1768-1771
Digitized journal of the voyage of H.M.S. ENDEAVOR, during which Cook discovered Eastern Australia and circumnavigated New Zealand.
Great Lakes Maritime History Project
The state of Wisconsin's maritime history of Lake Michigan, Lake Superior, hundreds of smaller lakes, and a network of rivers.
Official site for facts, description and images of U.S. Navy Ships.
The National Archives records of pictures of United States Navy Ships for the years 1775 - 1941.
U.S. Coast Guard Historian's Office
Official site for U.S. Coast Guard historical information with access to text documents, oral histories, and memoirs dating back to 1791.
New Bedford Whaling Museum Logbooks and Journals Database
A selection of the logbooks have been digitized.
National Archives and Records Administration is a government site with a wealth of primary sources in American history.
Includes special exhibit, Charters of Freedom.
Click here for Access to Archival Databases (AAD).
Social Networks and Archival Context
"A free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another."
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Access to hundreds of thousands of primary source images, including manuscripts, historical maps, photos, posters, and more.
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Makes African American history more broadly accessible with a number of tools; brings together more than 500,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
A searchable gateway to web resources and a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence.
A digital collection of 100 original documents that chronicle U.S. history from the Lee Resolution in 1776 to the Voting Rights Act in 1965.
Virginia Military Institute Archives
19th and 20th century collections of primary sources on American history, including letters, diaries, manuscripts, photos, portraits, and interviews.
Documenting the American South
Thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to American southern history, literature, and culture. University of North Carolina
Digitized text of documents in law, history, and diplomacy.Also includes some world history documents. Yale Law School
Census of Population and Housing
U.S. Census Bureau's site for historical decennial primary source census information dating back to 1790.
Digital archive of letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census, and church records of two American communities, one Northern and one Southern, during the Civil War era.
A collection of the most famous trials in American and World history.
American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
New York Public Library Articles and Databases
Free articles and databases are available to NYPL cardholders. Apply for NYPL card today!
New York Heritage Digital Collections
Research portal for anyone interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The site provides free access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totaling hundreds of thousands of items.
Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York
Provides online access to digital collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies located in and around New York City.
Museum of the City of New York Collections Portal
More than 100 primary sources that focus on Brooklyn’s role in the Civil War, including letters, maps, newspaper articles, photographs, and illustrations. Brooklyn Public Library
Interviews and archival records gathered from many sources document the borough’s people and places; their differences, their changes over time, and their strong ties to one another.
The World Digital Library makes available significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
A collection of published materials and archival/primary documents on world history that were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources. University of Wisconsin
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
African Online Digital Library
A portal to multimedia collections about Africa.
Explore 53,856,763 artworks, artifacts, books, videos, and sounds from across Europe.
Provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
A collection of transcribed primary sources on world history from ancient times to present. Hanover College
An online archive of cases and documents related to human rights in world history.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
A gateway with links that connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
"Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland."
"Includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more."
Digital library of millions of free books, texts, audio recordings, videos, images and software.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Fordham University-based project includes a collection of information on Ancient history, Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
