Concise Guide to Information Literacy by
This concise but information-packed text helps high school students in upper grade levels and lower division college and university students quickly master the basics of information literacy. A student's textbook and an instructional reference for educators: the second edition of Concise Guide to Information Literacy is both. It teaches students what information literacy is and why it is an important skill to develop--for their schoolwork as well as for success in life outside of school. The guide covers major areas in the information literacy process, including locating, evaluating, and applying information successfully. It also gives professors, teachers, and librarians a flexible text that can serve as the basis of a course in information literacy or research skills, a basic research guide for any information literacy course, or a supplemental text. This second edition has been reorganized for greater ease of use based on the information literacy models consulted. All chapters have been fully updated and now include extended coverage of the topics that appeared in the first edition; additionally, a new chapter on managing information has been added. Serves school and academic librarians and others in teaching basic information literacy skills to students Helps students learn how to find, analyze, use, and process information quickly and efficiently Supplies librarians and teachers with a concise textbook that is useful for student instruction and as a research guide
Enhancing Library and Information Research Skills by
Gain access to the latest and most savvy research techniques for academic librarians with this robust guidebook written by industry leaders involved in setting national standards for the Institute of Research Design for Librarianship. Staying on top of professional trends in academic library research can help turn any librarian into an expert researcher. This practitioner's guide arms librarians with the knowledge and skills needed to effectively conduct research to enhance professional practice and perform successful inquiries. It discusses current practices of academic librarians; details the process of successfully planning, implementing, and publishing a study; and provides professional and personal development to improve research competency. Written by professionals at the upper echelon of their field, Enhancing Library and Information Research Skills comprises seven chapters that break down the research process and focus on individual steps in performing effective research. The book teaches academic librarians how to develop a research question based on a practical problem, determine the scope and objectives of a study, and select proper research design and methods. Readers will also understand how to identify resources to support the study, set a timeline for data collection and data analysis, write a dissertation, and identify the proper venue for publication/presentation. Features the latest research practices of academic librarians-including current trends and patterns Provides the resources, knowledge, and skills to successfully conduct research, improve professional practice, and enhance careers Engages professionals in a sustained learning process to improve their research proficiency and impact Includes practical information for preparing posters and presentations for conference presentations.
Faculty-Librarian Collaborations by
ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education is a valuable tool for librarians working with faculty in developing curriculum that integrates information literacy into the disciplines. Faculty-Librarian Collaborations collects chapters, case studies, and lesson plans detailing why these collaborations are important, how to develop and execute them, specific lesson plans, and ideas for assessing their effectiveness. AMICAL is a consortium of American-modeled international liberal arts institutions working together on common goals for libraries, technology, and learning. This book is based on work begun in the AMICAL workshop "Co-design: Integrating Information Literacy into Your Disciplinary Course" held in 2017, along with subsequent design work, assessment, and a survey of participants. The workshop applicants were required to apply in faculty and librarian teams with the goal of integrating the ACRL Framework into a disciplinary course, as well as commit to an assessment effort at the end of their teaching experience to measure the affect of the collaboration. Faculty-Librarian Collaborations is a product of what participants accomplished after the workshop, including case studies detailing how the collaborations worked and performed; a selection of information literacy lesson plans based on the ACRL Framework and co-designed by librarians and faculty; and an analysis of a survey of participants with recommendations and future implications. This collection can be put to use immediately in collaborating to support and assess student information literacy and learning.
Hands-on Information Literacy Activities by
A comprehensive collection of interactive learning activities designed to help high school and college students - including ESL students - develop key information literacy skills. Activities are designed to help students determine the nature and extent of their information needs.
Introduction to Information Literacy for Students by
Features a unique step-by-step method that can be applied to any research project Includes research insights from professionals, along with review exercises, insiders' tips and tools, search screen images utilized by students, and more Encourages active inquiry-based learning through the inclusion of various study questions and exercises Provides students with effective research strategies to serve them through their academic years and professional careers Ensures accessibility and a strong instructional approach due to authorship by a librarian and award-winning English professor
Teaching Information Literacy Reframed by
Offering a solid starting point for understanding and teaching the six threshold concepts in the Framework, Burkhardt's guidance will help instructors create their own local information literacy programs.
Information Literacy is the set of skills and behaviors necessary to find, access, evaluate, and use information effectively and ethically. This definition and the following associated learning outcomes are guided by and adapted from the published information literacy standards of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), the American Association of Colleges & Universities (AAC&U), and the International Federation of Library Associations & Institutions (IFLA).
AAC&U Info Literacy Rubric
This rubric for evaluating information literacy competencies is endorsed by the American Association of Colleges & Universities.
ACRL considers information literacy a set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning. The approach is presented using a comprehensive framework detailing how to analyze, organize and teach information literacy.
ALA defines information literacy as "a set of abilities requiring individuals to “recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information.” To be information literate, then, one needs skills not only in research but in critical thinking."
Project Information Literacy (PIL) is a nonprofit research institute in the San Francisco Bay Area. Since 2009, in a series of 12 groundbreaking scholarly research studies, PIL has investigated how U.S. college students and recent graduates utilize research skills, information competencies, and strategies for completing course work, engaging with news, and solving information problems in their everyday lives and the workplace.