Stephen B. Luce Library Blog

New e-books!

by Jill Kehoe on August 11th, 2021 | 0 Comments

The Caribbean Blue Economy by Peter Clegg (Editor); Robin Mahon (Editor); Patrick McConney (Editor); Hazel A. Oxenford (Editor)

ISBN: 9781000227116

Publication Date: 2020-10-22

The Blue Economy is emerging on the global scene as a powerful and persuasive new concept for sustainable development based on economic activities associated with the ocean. Several regions globally have adopted this concept at national and regional levels, including the Caribbean. Given the complex, multisectoral and multilevel nature of the Blue Economy, it is clear that different approaches will be needed for different regions. Hence, this volume explores the opportunities, threats and risks involved in operationalising the Blue Economy in the Wider Caribbean Region, defined as northern Brazil to the USA and all mainland and island countries and territories in-between. The first part of the book looks at where the region stands in the global picture regarding adoption of the Blue Economy and what is planned. The second set of chapters examines key crosscutting issues such as ecosystem services, climate change and governance at national and regional levels that could make or break the Blue Economy initiative. The book then goes on to explore the main sectoral activities that will constitute the Blue Economies in the region: fisheries, tourism, shipping and transport, renewable energy, oil and gas, seabed mining and waste management are all considered. The book ends with a synthesis of the political and technical requirements to overcome threats and take advantage of opportunities in the Blue Economy.

Mechanical Engineering for Makers by Brian Bunnell; Samer Najia

ISBN: 9781680455922

Publication Date: 2020-01-15

This practical, user-friendly reference book of common mechanical engineering concepts is geared toward makers who don't have (or want) an engineering degree but need to know the essentials of basic mechanical elements to successfully accomplish their personal projects. The book provides practical mechanical engineering information (supplemented with the applicable math, science, physics, and engineering theory) without being boring like a typical textbook. Most chapters contain at least one hands-on, fully illustrated, step-by-step project to demonstrate the topic being discussed and requires only common, inexpensive, easily sourced materials and tools. Some projects also provide alternative materials and tools and processes to align with the reader's individual preferences, skills, tools, and materials-at-hand. Linked together via the authors' overarching project -- building a kid-sized tank -- the chapters describe the thinking behind each mechanism and then expands the discussions to similar mechanical concepts in other applications. Written with humor, a bit of irreverence, and entertaining personal insights and first-hand experiences, the book presents complex concepts in an uncomplicated way. Highlights include: Provides mechanical engineering information that includes math, science, physics and engineering theory without being a textbook Contains hands-on projects in each chapter that require common, inexpensive, easily sourced materials and tools All hands-on projects are fully illustrated with step-by-step instructions Some hands-on projects provide alternative materials and tools/processes to align with the reader's individual preferences, skills, tools and materials-at-hand Includes real-world insights from the authors like tips and tricks ("Staying on Track") and fail moments ("Lost Track!") Many chapters contain a section ("Tracking Further") that dives deeper into the chapter subject, for those readers that are interested in more details of the topic Builds on two related Make: projects to link and illustrate all the chapter topics and bring individual concepts together into one system Furnishes an accompanying website that offers further information, illustrations, projects, discussion boards, videos, animations, patterns, drawings, etc. Learn to effectively use professional mechanical engineering principles in your projects, without having to graduate from engineering school!

The Blue Wonder : Why the Sea Glows, Fish Sing, and Other Astonishing Insights from the Ocean by Bagusche, Frauke; McIntosh, Jamie

ISBN: 9781771646055

Publication Date: 2021

“If you like your books to be brimming with interesting science, then dive in!” —Tristan Gooley, New York Times-bestselling author of How to Read Water An intimate account of the beauty, mystery, and amazing science of the ocean. In The Blue Wonder, marine biologist and diver Frauke Bagusche brings readers on a fascinating and beautiful deep-sea dive into the ocean. Drawing on scientific discoveries and her own research, she uses photographs and playful prose to reveal: deep-sea reefs that glitter like glass fish that converse with each other by singing––loudly an octopus that imitates more than fifteen other animals the secret behind why the sea glows at night “weddings” that happen amongst the coral underwater “drugstores” and even fish that clean her own teeth! Humans know more about the moon’s surface than we do about the ocean. There is so much to be discovered, under the sea. With the heart of a poet and the mind of a scientist, Frauke Bagusche re-awakens our love for the sea and ignites a desire to protect this vital habitat.

Principles Of Marine Vessel Design: Concepts And Design Fundamentals Of Sea Going Vessels by Sahoo, Prasanta Kumar

Publication Date: 2021

The aim and scope of this book primarily deals with conceptual design of sea-going marine vessels. While there are a few books on similar topics available to the reader, this book takes a different approach to address the developments of many different types of vessels. Of significant interest would be the estimation of principal parameters of such as vessels and the various coefficients required for design purposes. These parameters are obviously not readily available without carrying out an extensive search and background study. Hopefully, this textbook may be of relevance to designers and career naval architects who need a reference to initiate the design process.

Container Logistics and Maritime Transport by Dong-Ping Song

ISBN: 9781000374612

Publication Date: 2021-05-05

This book provides a coherent and systematic view of the key concepts, principles, and techniques in maritime container transport and logistics chains including all the main segments: international maritime trade and logistics, freight logistics, container logistics, vessel logistics, port and terminal management, and sustainability issues in maritime transport. Container Logistics and Maritime Transport emphasizes analytical methods and current optimization models to tackle challenging issues in maritime transport and logistics. This book takes a holistic approach to cover all the main segments of the container shipping supply chains to achieve an efficient and effective logistics service system across the entire global transport chain. Sustainability issues such as social concern and carbon emissions from shipping and ports are also discussed. Each maritime transport segment is addressed using an approach from qualitative/descriptive analytics to quantitative/prescriptive analytics. Cutting-edge optimization models are presented and explained to tackle various strategic, tactical, and operational planning problems. The book will help readers better understand operations management in global maritime container transport chain. It will also provide practical principles and effective techniques and tools for researchers to push forward the frontiers of knowledge and for practitioners to implement decision support systems. It will be directly relevant to academic courses related to maritime transport, maritime logistics, transport management, international shipping, port management, container shipping, container logistics, shipping supply chain, and international logistics.

The Digital Transformation of Logistics by Mac Sullivan (Editor); Johannes Kern (Editor)

ISBN: 9781119646457

Publication Date: 2021-04-06

The digital transformation is in full swing and fundamentally changes how we live, work, and communicate with each other. From retail to finance, many industries see an inflow of new technologies, disruption through innovative platform business models, and employees struggling to cope with the significant shifts occurring. This Fourth Industrial Revolution is predicted to also transform Logistics and Supply Chain Management, with delivery systems becoming automated, smart networks created everywhere, and data being collected and analyzed universally. The Digital Transformation of Logistics: Demystifying Impacts of the Fourth Industrial Revolution provides a holistic overview of this vital subject clouded by buzz, hype, and misinformation. The book is divided into three themed-sections: Technologies such as self-driving cars or virtual reality are not only electrifying science fiction lovers anymore, but are also increasingly presented as cure-all remedies to supply chain challenges. In The Digital Transformation of Logistics: Demystifying Impacts of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, the authors peel back the layers of excitement that have grown around new technologies such as the Internet of Things (IoT), 3D printing, Robotic Process Automation (RPA), Blockchain or Cloud computing, and show use cases that give a glimpse about the fascinating future we can expect. Platforms that allow businesses to centrally acquire and manage their logistics services disrupt an industry that has been relationship-based for centuries. The authors discuss smart contracts, which are one of the most exciting applications of Blockchain, Software as a Service (SaaS) offerings for freight procurement, where numerous data sources can be integrated and decision-making processes automated, and marine terminal operating systems as an integral node for shipments. In The Digital Transformation of Logistics: Demystifying Impacts of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, insights are shared into the cold chain industry where companies respond to increasing quality demands, and how European governments are innovatively responding to challenges of cross-border eCommerce. People are a vital element of the digital transformation and must be on board to drive change. The Digital Transformation of Logistics: Demystifying Impacts of the Fourth Industrial Revolution explains how executives can create sustainable impact and how competencies can be managed in the digital age - especially for sales executives who require urgent upskilling to remain relevant. Best practices are shared for organizational culture change, drawing on studies among senior leaders from the US, Singapore, Thailand, and Australia, and for managing strategic alliances with logistics service providers to offset risks and create cross-functional, cross-company transparency. The Digital Transformation of Logistics: Demystifying Impacts of the Fourth Industrial Revolution provides realistic insights, a ready-to-use knowledge base, and a working vocabulary about current activities and emerging trends of the Logistics industry. Intended readers are supply chain professionals working for manufacturing, trading, and freight forwarding companies as well as students and all interested parties.

The Novel and the Sea by Margaret Cohen

ISBN: 9781400836482

Publication Date: 2021-06-08

For a century, the history of the novel has been written in terms of nations and territories: the English novel, the French novel, the American novel. But what if novels were viewed in terms of the seas that unite these different lands? Examining works across two centuries, The Novel and the Sea recounts the novel's rise, told from the perspective of the ship's deck and the allure of the oceans in the modern cultural imagination. Margaret Cohen moors the novel to overseas exploration and work at sea, framing its emergence as a transatlantic history, steeped in the adventures and risks of the maritime frontier. Cohen explores how Robinson Crusoe competed with the best-selling nautical literature of the time by dramatizing remarkable conditions, from the wonders of unknown lands to storms, shipwrecks, and pirates. She considers James Fenimore Cooper's refashioning of the adventure novel in postcolonial America, and a change in literary poetics toward new frontiers and to the maritime labor and technology of the nineteenth century. Cohen shows how Jules Verne reworked adventures at sea into science fiction; how Melville, Hugo, and Conrad navigated the foggy waters of language and thought; and how detective and spy fiction built on sea fiction's problem-solving devices. She also discusses the transformation of the ocean from a theater of skilled work to an environment of pristine nature and the sublime. A significant literary history, The Novel and the Sea challenges readers to rethink their land-locked assumptions about the novel.

Recent Trends in Naval Engineering Research by Ruffa, Anthony A.; Toni, Bourama

ISBN: 9783030641511

Publication Date: 2021

This multidisciplinary volume is the second in the STEAM-H series to feature invited contributions on mathematical applications in naval engineering. Seeking a more holistic approach that transcends current scientific boundaries, leading experts present interdisciplinary instruments and models on a broad range of topics. Each chapter places special emphasis on important methods, research directions, and applications of analysis within the field. Fundamental scientific and mathematical concepts are applied to topics such as microlattice materials in structural dynamics, acoustic transmission in low Mach number liquid flow, differential cavity ventilation on a symmetric airfoil, Kalman smoother, metallic foam metamaterials for vibration damping and isolation, seal whiskers as a bio-inspired model for the reduction of vortex-induced vibrations, multidimensional integral for multivariate weighted generalized Gaussian distributions, minimum uniform search track placement for rectangular regions, antennas in the maritime environment, the destabilizing impact of non-performers in multi-agent groups, inertial navigation accuracy with bias modeling. Carefully peer-reviewed and pedagogically presented for a broad readership, this volume is perfect to graduate and postdoctoral students interested in interdisciplinary research. Researchers in applied mathematics and sciences will find this book an important resource on the latest developments in naval engineering. In keeping with the ideals of the STEAM-H series, this volume will certainly inspire interdisciplinary understanding and collaboration.

Britain's War Against the Slave Trade by Anthony Sullivan

ISBN: 9781526717962

Publication Date: 2020-04-30

Long before recorded history, men, women and children had been seized by conquering tribes and nations to be employed or traded as slaves. Greeks, Romans, Vikings and Arabs were among the earliest of many peoples involved in the slave trade, and across Africa the buying and selling of slaves was widespread. There was, at the time, nothing unusual in Britain's somewhat belated entry into the slave trade, transporting natives from Africa's west coast to the plantations of the New World. What was unusual was Britain's decision, in 1807, to ban the slave trade throughout the British Empire. Britain later persuaded other countries to follow suit, but this did not stop this lucrative business. So the Royal Navy went to war against the slavers, in due course establishing the West Africa Squadron which was based at Freetown in Sierra Leone. This force grew throughout the nineteenth century until a sixth of the Royal Navy's ships and marines was employed in the battle against the slave trade. Between 1808 and 1860, the West Africa Squadron captured 1,600 slave ships and freed 150,000 Africans. The slavers tried every tactic to evade the Royal Navy enforcers. Over the years that followed more than 1,500 naval personnel died of disease or were killed in action, in what was difficult and dangerous, and at times saddening, work. In Britain's War Against the Slave Trade, naval historian Anthony Sullivan reveals the story behind this little-known campaign by Britain to end the slave trade. Whereas Britain is usually, and justifiably, condemned for its earlier involvement in the slave trade, the truth is that in time the Royal Navy undertook a major and expensive operation to end what was, and is, an evil business.

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

Business
English
Environmental Science
History
Humanities
Law
Leadership
Management
Marine Tech Deck Operations
Marine Tech Engr Operations
Marine Transportation
Maritime & Naval Studies
Naval Science
Navigation
Oceanography
Professional Studies
Science
Teaching and Learning

Return to Blog

New e-books!

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

Stephen B. Luce Library Blog

New e-books!

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.