Handbook of Fuels by
A guide to industrially relevant products and processes for transportation fuels The Handbook of Fuels offers a comprehensive review of the wide variety of fuels used to power vehicles, aircraft and ships and examines the processes to produce these fuels. The updated second edition reflects the growing importance of fuels and fuel additives from renewable sources. New chapters include information on current production technology and use of bioethanol, biomethanol and biomass-to-liquid fuels. The book also reviews novel additives and performanace enhancers for conventional engines and fuels for novel bybrid engines. This comprehensive resource contains critical information on the legal, safety, and environmental issues associated with the production and use of fuels as well as reviewing important secondary aspects of the use and production of fuels. This authoritative guide includes contributions from authors who are long-standing contributors to the Ullmann's Encyclopedia, the world's most trusted reference for industrial chemistry. This important guide: Contains an updated edition of the authoritative resource to the production and use of fuels used for transportation Includes information that has been selected to reflect only commercially relevant products and processes Presents contributions from a team of noted experts in the field Offers the most recent developments in fuels and additives from renewable sources Written for professionals in the fields of fossil and renewable fuels, engine design, and transportation, Handbook of Fuels is the comprehensive resource that has been revised to reflect the recent developments in fuels used for transportation.
Partnerships in Marine Research by
On Wide Seas by
A meticulously researched account of how the US Navy evolved between the War of 1812 and the Civil War The 1830s is an overlooked period in American naval history and is usually overshadowed by the more dramatic War of 1812 and the Civil War. Nevertheless, the personnel, operations, technologies, policies, and vision of the Navy of that era, which was emerging from the "Age of Sail," are important components of its evolution, setting it on the long path to its status as a global maritime power. On Wide Seas: The US Navy in the Jacksonian Era details the ways in which the US Navy transformed from an antiquated arm of the nation's military infrastructure into a more dynamic and effective force that was soon to play a pivotal role in a number of national and international conflicts. By Andrew Jackson's inauguration in 1829, the Navy had engaged with two major powers, defended American shipping, conducted antipiracy operations, and provided a substantive, long-term overseas presence. The Navy began to transform during Jackson's administration due in part to the policies of the administration and to the emerging officer corps, which sought to professionalize its own ranks, modernize the platforms on which it sailed, and define its own role within national affairs and in the broader global maritime commons. Jackson had built his reputation as a soldier, but he quickly recognized as president the necessity for a navy that could foster his policies. To expand American commerce, he needed a navy that could defend shipping as well as conduct punitive raids or deterrence missions. Jackson developed a clear, concise naval strategy that policymakers and officers alike could seize and execute. He also provided a vision for the Navy, interceded to resolve naval disciplinary challenges, and directed naval operations. Also, given Jackson's own politics, junior officers were emboldened by the populist era to challenge traditional, conservative thinking. They carried out a collective vision that coincided with the national literary movement that recognized America's future would rely upon the Navy.
Shipwreck Narratives: Out of our Depth by
Shipwrecked: Coastal Disasters and the Making of the American Beach by
Pirates: A New History, from Vikings to Somali Raiders by
The Lomborg Deception by 
Crossing the Line by
0 Comments.