Research Assignment - ENGR/ENGL 301 - Technical Writing

Search Articles in Library Catalog

Databases

Different resources will give you different types of information to help you build a well-rounded report. The resources below are good general resources.

MatWeb The heart of MatWeb's services is our searchable online database of engineering materials. We have over 170,000 data sheets in our collection and have many powerful search tools available to help our users find the materials information that they need.
SpringerLink SpringerLink provides full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer. Non-subscribed titles are identified by locked padlock symbol.Database Help
Applied Science and Technology Source This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.Database Help
Science Collection General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
ScienceDirect A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters.Database Help
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information.
DieselNet DieselNet provides access to progress in emission control technologies, new emission regulations, industry news, and upcoming technical meetings and conferences.

Step 1: Find An Experiment

First, pick a topic by locating a recent experiment in the news. Below are some popular news sources to browse in order to locate an experiment. Be sure to note the name of the experiment, the university or company working on the experiment, and the names of any individuals working on the project.

TED Talks on Engineering
A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Engineering.
ElProCus Electrical Seminar Topics for Engineer Students
This article gives a list of the most popular and latest seminar topics for electrical engineering students. These electrical seminar topics are an essential part of the curriculum during engineering. Choosing the best seminar topic is essential not only from an academic point of view but also from the knowledge point of view. Because the selection of the best topics enhances the knowledge of the students about the latest topics as well as the latest technology.
ASME Topics and Resources
Topics and resources curated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
TRB Hot Topics
Hot topics from the Transportation Research Board.

Step 2: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

What is peer-review?

Peer-review articles refers to academic articles that have been reviewed by two other experts in the same field. Academic articles are written by professional scholars, with the intended audience of other academics in their fields, as well as students in that field.

How can I find peer-reviewed articles?

Search for your topic in the library catalog. Then select "Peer-reviewed Journals" from the filters. Most academic databases also have a "Peer-Review" filter.