Guides: Business Research: Trade Journals &amp; Articles

Types of Articles

Articles can come from a range of types of journals, magazines, and newspapers. These are generally defined as popular, trade, or academic/scholarly

	Popular	Trade	Academic/Scholarly*
Audience	General Public	Workers in a particular industry	Academics, Students
Author	Journalists	Workers in that industry or specialized journalists	Academics
Purpose	To inform or entertain the general public on a subject	To inform people in that industry about industry news and developments	To further scholarship in a specific academic discipline
Example	New York Times, Forbes	Tradewinds	Maritime Economics & Logistics

*Peer-reviewed articles are a type of academic/scholarly article.

Popular Business Journals

Popular business journals are available through our ProQuest and EBSCO subscriptions. Please note that article text will display differently then on the publications' native site.

Trade Journals

DieselNet This link opens in a new window
DieselNet provides access to progress in emission control technologies, new emission regulations, industry news, and upcoming technical meetings and conferences.

Trade Journals are publications dedicated for readers in a specific industry or trade. Common trade journals for the maritime industry include:

Tradewinds This link opens in a new window
Journal of Commerce This link opens in a new window

Additional trade journals for all industries are indexed in Business Source Complete:

Databases for Business Peer-Reviewed Articles

Articles from a mix of peer-reviewed and trade journals can be found through the recommended databases:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search articles from the databases below by searching the Stephen B. Luce Library catalog.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. Database Help
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.Database Help
Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window Contains more than 500 full-text periodicals.
Hospitality and Tourism Collection This link opens in a new window Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
Insurance and Liability Collection This link opens in a new window Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Expanding and Narrowing Searches with Advanced Search Strategies

Boolean Operators

	AND	OR	NOT
Use	Narrows results as all search terms must be present	Broadens your results (because search results may contain either or both search terms)	Excludes results with whichever search term follows it.
Examples	bridges AND history AND civil engineering	university OR college OR higher education	mercury NOT planet
Visual

Search Modifiers

	Quotes	Asterisk	Parenthesis
Symbol	" "	*	( )
Use	Search multiple words together, such as a name or phrase	Enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *	Parenthesis will connect a keyword with two terms connected with OR.
Example	"social media"	coloniz* will search colonization, colonized, & colonizer	(body image or self-esteem) AND ("social media" OR “social platform”)