Guides: Marine Transportation Resources: Industry Information

Trade Journals

DieselNet This link opens in a new window
DieselNet provides access to progress in emission control technologies, new emission regulations, industry news, and upcoming technical meetings and conferences.

Trade Journals are publications dedicated for readers in a specific industry or trade. Common trade journals for the maritime industry include:

Tradewinds This link opens in a new window
Journal of Commerce This link opens in a new window

Additional trade journals for all industries are indexed in Business Source Complete:

Helpful Databases

Clarksons Shipping Intelligence Network This link opens in a new window Business intelligence provided by Clarksons Research of London. Includes data and analysis tracking and projecting market supply/demand,freight, vessel earnings, vessel values, and macro-economic data around trade flows and global economic developments. Database Help
MARAD Electronic Reading Room This link opens in a new window Select current MARAD publications.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new window TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. It is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes of transportation.

Clarksons Research

Clarksons Shipping Intelligence Network This link opens in a new window
Business intelligence provided by Clarksons Research of London. Includes data and analysis tracking and projecting market supply/demand,freight, vessel earnings, vessel values, and macro-economic data around trade flows and global economic developments.

Database Help

Navigating Shipping Intelligence Network

Shipping Intelligence Network provides a range of data on the shipping industry including vessels, fleets, owners, builders, and weekly reports covering industry trends and analysis. Clarksons works best by browsing, rather than searching.

See the screenshots below for a guide to navigating Clarkson for popular areas.