Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Open Textbooks and Assignments

Open Textbook Collection

Choose any of the Open Textbook databases below and browse by "Subject".

Each title should include the Creative Commons License.

Each Open Textbook database includes a FAQ on how to add the textbook to your class.

If you have any questions about OER Textbooks, ask the Scholarly Communications Librarian. If you need assistance integrating OER textbooks in your course, ask the Educational Technologist.

OpenStax - OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. All textbooks are peer-reviewed and openly licensed. They are free for download and available at a low cost in print.
Directory of Open Access Books - DOAB is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer-reviewed books in Open Access.
Oasis - An Open SUNY service, designed by SUNY Geneseo. Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.
Open Textbook Library - These textbooks have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities. They are free for download or available in print at a low cost.
Open SUNY Textbooks - Open SUNY Textbooks is the open textbook publishing initiative established by SUNY libraries.
Online Textbooks MIT - This page is an index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files. Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
Open Textbook Store - A collection of open textbooks for a variety of math courses.
College Open Textbooks - A collection of various subjects for open textbooks.

CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)- An Open Repository of assignments for librarians, faculty, and other educators. This collaborative space is intended for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable, and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. Check out the Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials.