Environmental law, in the United States, is the area of law focusing on environmental protections. Generally, environmental law focuses on preserving the air, water, and natural resources around us. Legislation and regulations have been put in place at the federal and state level to ensure that we have things like clean drinking water, unpolluted air to breathe, and solutions to clean up hazardous and toxic wastes. While environmental law can seem complex, the many different statutes governing its practice do provide a straightforward framework for regulations and enforcement. [excerpted from Library of Congress https://guides.loc.gov/environmental-law]
This guide identifies environmental law (treatises) sources, federal laws, agencies and regulations, electronic resources including journals, case law reporters and websites and environmental law research organizations, both government and nonprofit.
Comparative Environmental Law and Regulation by
The latest release contains the following updates. DT GUYANA: ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION ACT CHAPTER 20:05 DT INDIA: THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENT TRIBUNAL ACT, 1995 No. 27 of 1995 DT INDIA: The National Green Tribunal Act, 2010 DT NIGERIA: FEDERAL ENVIRONMENTAL AGENCY ACT 1988 No. 58 DT United Kingdom: Regulatory Enforcement and Sanctions Act of 2008 The following material is updated. In this release, three expert contributors have updated the series' booklets on EU, Viet Nam, Kenya, and Fiji. These updates come at a time of rapid economic growth for Vietnam and Kenya. The expert analysis that this release offers will prove vital for the many Western companies conducting business in these two countries for the first time. Lawyers representing companies with even long-standing investments in those two countries will also benefit from the booklets' guide to the new environmental rules triggered by the recent economic boom. The updates on the EU reflect Europe's recent steps in implementing the Kyoto Protocol. Written by pre-eminent experts with in-depth knowledge of their jurisdictions, each chapter of this looseleaf analyzes the key environmental laws, regulations, and implementation systems and agencies of thirty-nine countries worldwide. National statutes for protecting the public health from pollution, governing industrial safety standards, establishing parks and management regimes for wetlands, wildlife habitats, and other biomes, are actively pursued in countries around the world. Each country review discusses the potential impact of environmental laws on business transactions and offers practical advice on dealing with regulatory and enforcement authorities. Access insight on: DT Local environmental laws DT How laws are implemented DT The responsibilities of governmental agencies for implementation of laws DT When, how and where to apply for licenses and permits DT Prosecution policies for environmental crimes DT Fines and penalties DT Toxic tort litigation DT Administrative litigation DT Jurisdiction of pertinent agencies Includes a guide to locating environmental law information on the Internet, providing URL's, reliability indicators, research criteria, and advice on how to find the most current official documents.
Environmental Law by
This Nutshell summarizes the complex field of environmental law. Findley and Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides a foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of various areas, from acid rain and atomic energy, to waste disposal and wetlands. Touches upon the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.
Environmental Law and Policy by
Environmental Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive treatment of environmental law. Written to be read pleasurably rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of environmental law while also explaining the major statutes and cases. A series of problem exercises have been added throughout the book, describing a legal or policy conflict in detail and asking students to identify and assess solutions. The first part of the book provides an engaging discussion of the major themes and issues that cross-cut environmental law. The second part of the book examines the substance of environmental law, with separate sections on each of the major statutes. The third part of the book describes natural resources law, discussing endangered species conservation, wetlands protection, water and energy issues. Part four addresses environmental impact statements and the National Environmental Policy Act.
Environmental Law Handbook by
The environmental field and its regulations have evolved significantly since Congress passed the first environmental law in 1970, and the Environmental Law Handbook, published just three years later, has been indispensable to students and professionals ever since. The authors provide clear and accessible explanations, expert legal insight into new and evolving regulations, and reliable compliance and management guidance. The Environmental Law Handbook continues to provide individuals across the country-professionals, professors, and students-with a comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-read look at the major environmental, health, and safety laws affecting U.S. businesses and organizations. Because it is written by the country's leading environmental law firms, it provides the best, most reliable guidance anywhere. Both professional environmental managers and students aspiring to careers in environmental management should keep the Environmental Law Handbook within arm's reach for thoughtful answers to regulatory questions like: -How do I ensure compliance with the regulations? -How do the latest environmental developments impact my operations? -How do we keep our operations efficient and our community safe? The Handbook begins with chapters on the fundamentals of environmental law and on issues of enforcement and liability. It then dives headfirst into the major laws, examining their history, scope, and requirements with a chapter devoted to each. The 23rd edition of this well-known Handbook has been thoroughly updated, covering major changes to the law and enforcement in the areas of Clean Air, Clean Water, Climate Change, Oil Pollution, and Pollution Prevention. This is an essential reference for environmental students and professionals, and anyone who wants the most up-to-date information available on environmental laws.
Essentials of Environmental Law by
Written by 12 nationally known experts in environmental law-paralegals, lawyers who are former paralegals, and attorneys who work closely with paralegals in environmental law-this book includes substantive reviews of major environmental laws, with practical discussion of how paralegals support attorneys, governments, and businesses in environmental law matters. Features chapter-length coverage of each major environmental law, with history of the Act, provisions, enforcement, etc. Clean Air Act. Clean Water Act. Toxic Substances Control Act. Resources Conservation and Recovery Act. Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act. Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act. National Environmental Policy Act. Administrative Law and Procedure. For paralegals.