Guides: GBAT Legal Research: Maritime Law

Maritime Law & International Maritime Law Journals

Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce Devoted to all aspects of admiralty and maritime law, including the law of the sea.
Loyola Maritime Law Journal published by Loyola University Law School
Ocean & Coastal Law Journal pubished by Maine Law Institute, University of Maine
Tulane Maritime Law Journal published by Tulane University Law School

International Journal of Maritime and Coastal Law The International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law addresses all aspects of marine and coastal law.
Marine Policy Marine Policy is the leading journal of ocean policy studies. It offers researchers, analysts and policy makers a unique combination of analyses in the principal social science disciplines relevant to the formulation of marine policy.
Ocean Development and International Law Articles and reviews about marine affairs and all aspects of international and comparative law and policy concerning the management of ocean uses and activities.

Maritme Law Treatises

Admiralty and Maritime Law, 2nd edition by Robert Force
Call Number: KF1104 .F67 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Hathi Trust digital copy
Admiralty and Maritime Law by Thomas J. Schoenbaum; Jessica McClelland This is a handy, streamlined one-volume abridgement of the fifth edition of Schoenbaum's comprehensive practitioners' treatise on admiralty and maritime law. It covers the essential topics of jurisdiction, admiralty rules and practice, maritime torts, seamen's remedies, maritime workers' compensation, carriage of goods by sea in international trade, charter parties, towage, pilotage, salvage, collision, and limitation of liablility. Ideal for students and those wanting an introduction to this important field of law, this hornbook places emphasis on the international aspects of maritime law.
Call Number: REF KF1104 .S36 2012
ISBN: 9780314911575
Publication Date: 2012-01-27
Admiralty in a Nutshell by Thomas C. Galligan; Frank L. Maraist; Thomas C. Galligan Authoritative text covers maritime jurisdiction and substantive law. Explores maritime property liens and the seamans employment contract, wages, and compromise of claims. Discusses marine insurance, towage and pilotage, salvage, and general average. Addresses maritime tort law, collision law, worker injury claims, wrongful death, and platform injuries. Also covers sovereign immunity; joint and several liability, indemnity, and contribution; liability limitations; and jurisdiction and procedure in maritime claims.
Call Number: KF1105 .M34 2005
ISBN: 9780314159687
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Benedict on Admiralty
Call Number: KF 1104 .B4 1969
Publication Date: 1969
updated periodically (binder)

Introduction to Maritime Law

United States admiralty and maritime law encompasses laws relating to navigation and commerce on navigable waters in the United States. Common topics include the formation and interpretation of contracts, tort claims, and workers' compensation claims.

This guide identifies reference sources, sources of admiralty and maritime case law, U.S. admiralty and maritime associations, and electronic resources including databases, journals and websites.

Electronic Resources

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Database Help

United Nations Treaty Collection
On the United Nations Treaty Series page, you can access information on all treaties and treaty actions published in the United Nations Treaty Series volumes, as well as information on treaties and treaty actions that have been registered but not yet published in the Treaty Series. In total, the database contains information on over 250,000 treaties and treaty actions and includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French. In the same section, you can also access issues of the Monthly Statement prepared by the Treaty Section and offering details on the treaties registered each month, checklist and technical guidelines to be used by Member States when submitting treaties for registration, and a summary of the limited publication policy applicable to some categories of treaties.
International Maritime Organization (IMO)
As a specialized agency of the United Nations, IMO is the global standard-setting authority for the safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping. Its main role is to create a regulatory framework for the shipping industry that is fair and effective, universally adopted and universally implemented.
Treaties in Force
Published annually by the State Department to provide information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States is presently a party. It lists those treaties and other international agreements in force for the United States as of the stated publication date for each edition. More information about the scope, contents, and organization of Treaties in Force can be found in the Foreword to each edition.