Guides: History Resources: Finding Books and Articles

Recommended Databases for Historical Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Database Help
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Database Help
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database.
Database Help
Age of Exploration: Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
New York State Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A select group of Newspapers from New York State, including the New York Times and New York Post.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE has over 800 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 80,000 books from more than 140 presses with an emphasis in the Humanities.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window The online library catalog of the Stephen B. Luce Library.

Searching For Books In SUNY Maritime Library Catalog

Search for title, author or subject in search box
Leave EVERYTHING as the default search scope (A). This will search everything including other SUNY institutions. Use SUNYShare to request.
Use filters on the left to select Available online under Availability for e-materials (B) and Books under Resource Type (C) to exclude other material types like articles and images.