Guides: Engineering: Mechanical Engineering

Databases

Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Database Help
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters.
Database Help
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer. Non-subscribed titles are identified by locked padlock symbol.
Database Help
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new window
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. It is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes of transportation.

Online Resources

eFunda
An online reference website for the mechanical engineering community.
MatWeb
Material property data and materials information
Versatile Unit Converster
A handy tool that converts many scientific measurements. On this site you can convert units such as energy, length, volume, power, temperature, radioactivity, and magnetism from one system to others.

eVideos

Designers at work
Design is a fundamental way in which we express ourselves. And the designer - from the initial idea, to production and testing, and eventual use - is involved at every stage.
Duration | 21:18min
Environmental sustainability in manufacturing (eVideo)
Explains greenhouse gases, global warming, climate change, our carbon footprint, renewable and non-renewable resources, over consumption and the 5 Rs – refuse, reduce, reuse, repair and recycle. Includes three case studies in Australian manufacturing. Includes Trainer Guide and support materials. (Ideas that Work) Duration: 27 mins. Year: 2011
Ferrous metals
Introduction to the use of ferrous metals in the production of manufactured products in everyday life. It considers the full range of steels together with the reason why each is selected for a particular use.
Duration | 24:10min
Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices (eVideo)
This video explains how to implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices by showing the stages of this process using real Australian manufacturing workplace examples. Includes Trainer Guide and support materials. (Ideas that Work)Duration: 29 mins. Year: 2012
Managing a Design Project (eVideo)
- This link opens in a new window
Looks at the elements involved in managing design projects such as establishing a project plan, an action plan, time plan and finance plan, how to apply and evaluate those plans, and design project constraints.
Duration: 32 mins. Year: 2012.
Non-destructive testing (eVideo)
This program shows how seven different non-destructive test procedures are carried out, their advantages, limitations and typical areas of application. Duration: 28 min. Year: 2000
Sustainable design
This video inspires students to incorporate sustainability into their design projects.
The smart car | Freeplay power | The remarkable pencil
Duration | 21:18min
Working with mechanical engineering
In this program, four young people who use mechanical engineering skills in their work, talk about their working lives, career paths, and what they enjoy about their jobs.
Duration | 18:47min
Worksite Communication Skills (eVideo)
Looks at basic communication skills within industrial or commercial trade settings such as construction sites, engineering or fabrication workshops and manufacturing enterprises. Duration: 19 min. Year: 2014

Books from Catalog

Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by Karl-Heinrich Grote (Editor); Erik K. Antonsson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook- Click link to access
ISBN: 9783540491316
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Modern Mechanical Engineering by J. Paulo Davim (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642451751
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design by Richard Budynas; Keith Nisbett
Call Number: TJ230 .S5 2015 Reserve 4 hour
ISBN: 9780073398204
Publication Date: 2014-01-27