Skip to Main Content

Faculty Resources: Linking, URLs, and Permalinks

Guide to help faculty

Linking to Library Resources

  • Links to library provided e-resources must contain the library's proxy prefix.
  • Do not copy the url from the browser address bar of academic databases (EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR) because the URLs are temporary and will expire.
  • Always test links in assignments and course shells.

If you need assistance with a broken link, email library@sunymaritime.edu.

Need help linking to an article, ebook, or video from a specific database? Look at the Permalinks Specific Databases page.

Linking to Library Databases

Linking to Library Databases
Open the library’s A-Z Databases page.
Right-click on the database’s name. Select Copy Link.
Paste the text into the assignment, course shell, or where desired.
Complete database link with library proxy prefix information should appear.
Complete database link with library proxy prefix information should appear.

Finding Permalinks From Library Catalog

Finding Permalinks From Library Catalog
Find the article or e-book in the library catalog. Click on the Permalink symbol in the right corner of the result.
The Permalink will be provided. Note: this permalink will direct users to the library catalog result to retrieve item.

All Other Platforms: Add Proxy Prefix to Any Library Item

Adding proxy prefix to any library item
Linking to an individual article, e-book, or video from the library subscription databases? Make sure to add the proxy prefix or it will not work off-campus!

Stephen B. Luce Library || SUNY Maritime College || 6 Pennyfield Avenue, Bronx, NY 10465 || Phone: (718) 409-7231 || Email: library@sunymaritime.edu

Copyright © All rights reserved