Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Home

About

The Stephen B. Luce Library has a longstanding commitment to storing and preserving America’s maritime heritage. As the first maritime school in the country, founded in 1874, the college’s institutional records document the development of nautical education in the United States. Additionally, the library is home to the records and papers of over fifty maritime organizations. 

Check out the History of Maritime College and Fort Schulyer page for brief histories and resources. 

The Archives at the Stephen B. Luce Library is accessible by appointment only. Please contact the Stephen B. Luce Library at library@sunymaritime.edu or (718) 409-7231 for more information or to schedule a visit.

 

Reading Room Hours

The Reading Room is open by appointment only to students, faculty, and researchers. 

Please contact the Library to book an appointment. 

Resources

Online Access

The Stephen B. Luce Library is home to hundreds of collections that document the history of significant people and organizations in the maritime industry and the history of the college.

Click here to explore finding aids at the Luce Library and ArchivesFinding aids serve as guides to the collections, providing information about their content, organization, provenance, and historical context.

Click here to explore newly digitized materials on our Maritime Digital CollectionsWe are continually adding more items as time and resources allow. 

Click here for the library and archives blog. We post updates about new collections we have processed or digitized, grants obtained, and other news.

To learn more about some of our most treasured collections, including the records of Sailors' Snug Harbor, the Marine Society of the City of New York, and the Sandy Hook Pilots, check out the Special Collections. 

Featured Items from the Archives


Stephen B. Luce Library || SUNY Maritime College || 6 Pennyfield Avenue, Bronx, NY 10465 || Phone: (718) 409-7231 || Email: library@sunymaritime.edu

Copyright © All rights reserved