Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Policies

Fall 2020/Spring 2021 - COVID-19 Changes

The following page outlines changes to our policies and operations that will take effect when the library re-opens on August 24, 2020. These changes are being implemented for the health and safety of our students, faculty and staff.  

Library Collections and Circulation

Fines and Fees

Accrual of fines and fees will be re-instated the first day of the Fall semester. See our library policies for details.

Placing a request - this service will begin on August 22, 2020 

Material can be requested through the library catalog. Material will be retrieved by library personnel Monday through Friday following the retrieval schedule, below. When your item is ready for pick up, you will receive a system generated e-mail. Requested material will be available for pick up at the circulation desk. Items will remain on the hold shelf for 7 days. If the item is not picked up in that time frame, it will be re-shelved.

You are encouraged to watch this video tutorial on how to place a request. 

Retrieval schedule from Stephen B. Luce Library, based on time of request:

Time of request:

Estimated time available for pickup:

Before 10:30 am

11:30 am

Before 12:00 pm

1:00 pm

Before 2:00 pm

3:00 pm

Before 3:30 pm

4:30 pm

Please allow 1-2 weeks for items requested from other SUNY campuses.

Returning Material/Quarantine Period

In an effort to limit face to face interactions, please place all items being returned in our bookdrop outside of our main entrance in St, Mary’s pentagon.

Based on recommendations from the CDC and the American Library Association, all library materials that are returned will be placed in quarantine for 72 hours before being re-shelved. During the quarantine period, they will not be displayed in the library catalog.

Physical [4 hour] Reserves

Out of an abundance of caution, the library will be unable to provide physical [4 hour] reserves for the Fall 2020 semester. Please urge your students to purchase their own copies of the course text, or plan their time wisely .

Items previously on reserve will be put into the circulating collection, with the exception of license exam study materials which will be treated as Reference material. Personal copies on reserve will be returned.

 Electronic Reserves

Beginning Fall 2020, the library will no longer be putting scanned documents on Course Reserves. Items on Course Reserves will be limited to books (not in Fall 2020), eBooks, and articles that are found in our library catalog and databases. This limits our risk of copyright violation. Faculty are encouraged to upload PDF’s directly into their Blackboard course.  Faculty may use our self-service scanner if they wish to include book chapters in Blackboard and will be responsible for adhering to copyright law.

Reference Collection

Items from the reference collection will be available by request for library use only.

Periodicals 

Individual periodicals will not be available for use. For scans of articles, please submit an interlibrary loan request.

Board Games

The Board game collection is unavailable until further notice.

 

Library Instruction

  • Regular request/scheduling procedures remain in place. Please use this form to request an instruction session.
  • In person library instruction will be unavailable during the Fall 2020 semester
  • Synchronous online instruction will continue to be available via Zoom
  • Asynchronous online instruction will be available upon request at the discretion of the assigned librarian

Reference Services

Interlibrary Loan/SUNYShare

Article lending/borrowing will remain unchanged when articles are available/can be made available in PDF format.

Physical lending/borrowing will resume at the start of term. Please be advised: while libraries across the country are experiencing unprecedented changes due to COVID-19, materials may be unavailable due to restrictions on lending or the turnaround time for requested material may be longer than usual. This will vary regionally. Physical lending/borrowing can be suspended at any time based on national trends and recommendations from the American Library Association and SUNY Libraries Consortium.

All returned items will be quarantined for 72 hours.

Acquisitions

Acquisitions will be limited due to budget reductions. Please continue to use the recommend a purchase form. Recommendations will be evaluated on a case by case basis. Be advised: the library will not purchase licenses for streaming media at this time.

Archives

The archives will be open to the Maritime College community with an advanced written request of the material that needs to be viewed. Please send requests to library@sunymaritime.edu. One person in addition to the archivist will be permitted in the archives at one time. Queries that come in via phone, email, chat for scans will continue to be fulfilled.

Archival Instruction

  • Regular request/scheduling procedures remain in place. Please use this form to request an instruction session.
  • In person library instruction will be unavailable during the Fall 2020 semester
  • Synchronous online instruction will continue to be available via Zoom
  • Asynchronous online instruction will be available upon request at the discretion of the assigned librarian

Stephen B. Luce Library || SUNY Maritime College || 6 Pennyfield Avenue, Bronx, NY 10465 || Phone: (718) 409-7231 || Email: library@sunymaritime.edu

Copyright © All rights reserved